Hello world!

There is something wonderful about being old enough to look back on your life and know you’ve grown.  No matter how mature or immature you may have been in your early years, you can see that you no longer respond as you once did. Maybe you’re not as quick to jump to conclusions or into a fight, or you’ve learned to hold your tongue, or maybe you forgive more quickly.  Or possibly you were the girl who turned the steaks to stone the first time you cooked for your young man, but now you feed everyone, and they enjoy it.  Seeing your own growth can bring peace and contentment, but it also makes you want to share it.

Of my six children, three are grown and have moved out. I am watching the result of following my heart in parenting, and if I were to take credit for how awesome my kids all are, I would need some kind of support to carry around my big head.  They are incredible people, and they have good relationships with each other and with their mom and dad.  Maybe that doesn’t make me an expert, but I can share what I’ve learned, including the things that didn’t work.

That’s what this blog is about.  I have learned much walking this Road of Life. I don’t think any of the lessons were short or easy, and some cost considerable pain, but what I’ve gained would be selfish to keep to myself.  As I look back, there were those in my life who offered this kind of help to me.  Women who had been where I was generously gave of themselves to help me take the next step of my journey.  If I can help others in this way, I will be doing a happy dance all the time!

So please, join me, and glean what you can.  If it’s a recipe here and there or a bit of encouragement in your day, take as much as you need.  Leave a comment if you can; I love to hear what people think.  I look forward to walking the next leg of the journey with you!

This entry was posted in Just a Thought... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Viola Olson says:

    My New reading for mornings, everyday!!!! Thank you for doing this – this is great Dawn.

    Like

  2. Jansina says:

    I’m so excited to read this! 🙂

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    So excited to read this. You have had such an impact on my life and in helping me take the next steps in my journey. I know that you have done this for many others and will continue to do this for many more. I love you cuz!

    Like

  4. Excited you are blogging, Dawn! Can’t wait to see what comes! RSS Gold – already bookmarked in the feed!

    Like

  5. Love you and your family! You have inspired me for years, now it will be archived so I can re read it if I need to!

    Like

  6. Ashley Souba says:

    I’m so looking forward to reading this blog! (And I need all the cooking help I can get!) I’m so excited! Great job!

    Like

  7. Thank you everyone! I feel so encouraged and excited to do this. I’m almost ready with the next post, and trying to figure out how to navigate, etc. I love to hear your thoughts, so please keep sharing!

    Like

  8. Sue Smart says:

    Your gift to communicate in a breezy, easy-to-read style is so delightful! I’m looking forward to following you and learning along the way. You had me at “hello”!

    Like

  9. Brenda Augsburger says:

    Dawners!!! So excited for you in this newest project. I’m looking forward to reading…and re-reading…and bragging that “I (sniff) knew her when…” LOL Love you…love this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

