The Amazing Cheese Ball

This is it! the most amazingly delicious cheese ball ever!

This is it! the most amazingly delicious cheese ball ever!

As promised, The Most Amazing Cheese Ball You Have Ever Had In Your Whole Mouth! Seriously, I made a double sized cheese ball, and it went twice as fast as the herb one. And the herb one was good!

The day before Thanksgiving, I decided I needed to add a couple cheese balls to the before-dinner snack table. We had lots of veggies and crackers, and a couple kinds of dip. Why did I feel we needed cheese balls? I don’t know. I think I was just in the mood. My mood may have been different if I hadn’t had six extra packages of cream cheese. Yes, six. That’s a long story, and I do love and appreciate my sons who do shopping runs for me!

Somewhere on the World Wide Web, someone had a recipe for a cheese ball with Dijon mustard. I should have Pinned it, but I didn’t. I couldn’t find it again when I wanted to make it, so I guessed at amounts and added some yumminess. Yumminess is important.

The ingredient list is so short and simple that you wouldn’t expect it to be so fantabulous, but it is. Be sure to use sharp cheese to balance the pungency of the Dijon mustard. This is also one time when it’s important to use the suggested brands. There is a definite difference in texture and flavor of the cream cheese, and you don’t want to lose the distinct, crisp flavor of the name brand mustard. The simplicity of the ingredients makes the quality of each stand out.

What is your favorite hors d’oeuvres to serve at a party or get-together?

   The Most Amazing Cheese Ball You Have Ever Had In Your Whole Mouth       If you can keep your hands off, this cheese ball can be made ahead and kept in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to three days. The flavors blend beautifully.

Ingredients

  • 2- 8 oz. pkgs       Kraft© Philadelphia® cream cheese
  • 3 c                        grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • ¼ c                      Kraft© Grey Poupon® Dijon mustard
  • 3                           green onions, sliced thin
  • ½ cup                  sliced almonds, coarsely chopped

 Instructions

  1. Bring cream cheese to room temperature
  2. Smoosh cream cheese around in a medium bowl
  3. Add the cheddar, mustard, and green onions, stir to combine well. Mound all together into a ball in middle of bowl. Cover and refrigerate for 20 minutes or more
  4. Scoop out onto cutting board, press together and shape into a ball
  5. Roll in chopped almonds and pat almonds in until covered
  6. Chill until ready to serve. Let rest at room temperature about 10 minutes for best results

Tip: It may be easier to handle if you form it into a tight ball to refrigerate, then quickly smash it into a tighter ball after refrigeration, without too much attention to symmetry. Roll it in the almonds, then perfect the sphere shape. Your hands won’t stick to the almond covered ball as much.

Yield: Bigger than a grapefruit, smaller than a cantaloupe (the pedestal plate in the picture is about 8″ in diameter)

This entry was posted in Food, Holiday Cooking, Hors D'oeuvres, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Amazing Cheese Ball

  1. Pingback: Making Good Use of My Cheese Ball Leftovers | Life is Delicious

  2. Brenda Augsburger says:

    well…there goes THAT attempt at eating less calories! LOL. I’ve got to try this SOON! I just want to spend about a year sitting in your kitchen my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

