Bruschetta for Breakfast

Grape tomatoes, a bit of garlic olive oil, some fresh thyme and lemon, and some capers, toss in some coarse salt. This was my inspired breakfast. The tomatoes were just starting to become soft, and I was looking for something that would use them right away and keep them as fresh as possible. 

I tossed all that stuff  into a little sauté pan and shook it like crazy. I probably didn’t need to shake it so hard, but it was fun to watch the tomatoes bounce around. I smashed the tomatoes with a fork and stirred it all up. Then came the magic. I spooned it onto baguette slices, added a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of an Italian cheese blend.  

Oh My Goodness!

This was the kind of delicious that makes you swing your legs, bounce in your seat and hum happily. Well, maybe not you, but that’s what my brothers and sister and I did when Mom made something extra good. My sister and I still do this. Our brothers probably do, too, but only when no one’s looking.

Just look at those capers and flecks of thyme! Really, quite the yumminess. I felt quite cosmopolitan nibbling on these while drinking a London Fog.(In truth, I wasn’t nibbling. I was chowing down, but chowing down is most decidedly not cosmopolitan.)

My Brand of Bruschetta

  • a few slices of a baguette
  • grape tomatoes
  • garlic olive oil
  • fresh thyme, chopped
  • a few squeezes of fresh lemon juice, zest if you’ve got it
  • some capers
  • coarse salt
  • olive oil for drizzling
  • grated Parmesan cheese or cheese blend
  1. Slice as much of the baguette as you will use on an angle, place on a plate
  2. Plop everything into a pot over medium heat
  3. Shake it up. You can twist and shout, if you like, but it’s not necessary
  4. When it bubbles, remove it from the heat, smash the tomatoes with a fork and stir it all together
  5. Spoon about 1 ½ Tablespoons of amazingness onto each baguette slice. Drizzle olive oil and sprinkle Parmesan cheese or a Parmesan blend over all the slices. Serve it up!

Note: You can toast the baguette slices first, or place the baguette slices on a  baking sheet to assemble and broil them after assembling. I thought it would have been good, but I was too hungry and impatient. Let me know if you try it.

This entry was posted in Drinks, Food, Hors D'oeuvres, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bruschetta for Breakfast

  1. Brenda says:

    Gotta try this!!! OMGoodness! I can sooo picture your brothers secretly bouncing up and down in their seats and swinging their legs! LOL. Thanks for the breakfast lesson.

    Like

    • Yep, Dane may be on his Harley, and Brian on a mountain top, but I’m sure they do bounce and hum.

      I was thinking you would especially like this one. Lots of flavor and nutrition packed into each bite. When you only get a few bites at a time, each one better be worth it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

