Thank My Sister for These Healthy Banana Coconut Waffles

My awesome sister gave me a waffle iron! I simply love waffles. Pancakes are okay, but I prefer them with fried eggs and sausage links and lots of syrup. But I’m supposed to be talking about a healthy breakfast here! It’s not difficult to make a healthy breakfast, even if you want waffles. I cheated on this one and used a mix, because really, who wants to start the day off with a lot of work that makes a big mess? The mess either makes you clean it up right away or makes you feel guilty about it sitting there while you’re trying to enjoy your delicious healthy breakfast—which is part of your guilt free morning. It’s a tyrant of a thing, that mess is.

So. The main points are health, and ease. Health: don’t use bad-for-you ingredients. Did you know that there was an age when flour was not bad? It has nothing to do with ignorance of the evils of flour, like when they didn’t know that tobacco would kill you. No, it was back in the days before they processed our flour with more than just a grinding in the mill. They didn’t call it “whole wheat flour” because there was no other kind.  That would have been like saying the forest was full of whole wood trees.

Use vegetable oil, but try to stay away from soybean and corn oils. While soy used to be considered a health food staple, and corn a safe oil, they are both so overused in our foods today that our bodies are getting too much of them in our daily diets, and many people have developed allergies to one or both of them. 

For the ease of this little production, find a pancake and waffle mix in the health food section of your grocery store. Look for organic whole grains, and read the ingredient list: no bleached flours or long lists of chemicals. If you are like thousands of others who can no longer tolerate gluten, there are plenty of gluten free (GF) mixes in any health food section of your grocery store, or in the aisle with other baking mixes.

This is a vegetarian meal, and if you forgo any butter and use a vegan mix and whipped coconut milk in place of whipped cream, it’s also vegan. (Most mixes if not labeled “vegan” will most likely have dried egg.)

The rest of the healthy deliciousness is about the toppings. Using coconut oil in place of butter amps up the health factor. There are lots of benefits of coconut oil. And the flavor is stand-out scrumptious. Add a sliced banana, some toasted coconut—which I have on hand so I don’t have to toast it when I want a little for a topping—a little whipped cream—or for extra good healthiness use whipped coconut milk, which I didn’t have on hand—and a little more toasted coconut.

I will admit; after I took the pictures I smeared the whipped cream all over so I’d get a bit in each bite. I’m proud of myself, though. I normally would have put more on such a big waffle, but I didn’t even add more after taking the pictures!

So here you go, in nice recipe form.

Pretty Healthy Banana Coconut Waffles

INGREDIENTS

  • Waffle mix, plus whatever it calls for to make a single serving
  • Cinnamon
  • Vegetable oil
  • Coconut oil
  • 1 banana
  • Toasted coconut
  • Whipped cream or whipped coconut milk

DIRECTIONS

Preheat waffle iron while making batter

  1. Prepare a single serving size of waffle batter according to package directions, except:
  2. Add about ¼ tsp of cinnamon to the dry ingredients before adding liquid ingredients
  3. Add liquid ingredients, including a little more oil than called for if your iron tends to stick like mine
  4. When heated, oil waffle iron well
  5. Cook waffle according to how your iron works
  6. While waffle is cooking, peel and slice the banana
  7. Place cooked waffle on plate, “butter” the waffle with coconut oil, pile banana slices on top, sprinkle with toasted coconut flakes, add some whipped cream/coconut milk, and a little more toasted coconut

It took me about as long to make this breakfast as it did to photograph and eat it. Not bad! Oh yeah, and I left the waffle mix, cinnamon, and oil out because I know some of my kids will want to make their own waffles when they get up. Oh how I love having teenagers!

I’m thinking of trying some heated crushed pineapple next time in place of the whipped cream. Or apple sauce and granola. Or strawberries and vanilla yogurt! What healthy suggestions do you have for me?

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank My Sister for These Healthy Banana Coconut Waffles

  1. Robbie says:

    I used a gluten free pancake/baking mix actually for your chicken and dumplings recipe for Mom. Worked out quite well. Couldn’t tell that much of a difference in the dumplings.

    Like

    • It would be easy to use that mix for GF waffles. But we did find that one brand of mix didn’t work, but another did. I guess you can just try them out. Of course, we have your waffle iron now, so no you can’t!

      Like

Leave a Reply

